Skip to content

Verona Strauss

Hi, I'm verona Strauss
I'm available for full time, part time and casual work locally

verona portrait (Large)

About me

You’re probably here because you’ve seen one of my adverts in the village and are curious to know more about me.

I’m 19 years old and was born in the village. I spent a year at Lancaster university studying English language and linguistics. Sadly, after a term of strike action followed by a term of Covid disruption, I decided I was not getting value for money, so will not be continuing with my education.

The good news is, I’m now back in the village and available to help YOU!

Although I’m more of an observer to begin with, once you get to know me, you’ll find me articulate and ready for a good conversation. I have a balanced and open-minded approach to all opinions and walks of life.

I’m a patient listener and really enjoying getting to know what makes people tick. Although I have no formal training, I have a particular interest and compassion towards mental health issues, so if you’re struggling, please get in touch.

Here are some things I can help you with

Befriending

Recent months have meant many people are feeling isolated or afraid. A good conversation, or just having someone around can help. We can chat, put the world to rights, do the crossword together, go for a walk or play board games – I play a mean Scrabble game!

Household duties

Maybe you need someone to clean, reboot the laundry, decobweb the ceiling, change the bed or finally get around to cleaning the fridge. I can do all of that to a high standard.

Moving light loads

I’m a hard worker when it comes to physical labour. So if you’re clearing out your attic, moving house, are clearing the garden or just fancy moving your furniture around, you can hire my muscles! I’ll roll up my sleeves and get stuck in. I can help you declutter too, as I’ll be impartial, pragmatic and ask the right questions to help you make a decision.

Care work

Although not formally qualified, I’m a natural care giver. I have informal experience with supporting people with depression and anxiety, so perhaps you need simple, non-judgemental emotional support – I know how invaluable that can be. It might be you need someone to walk out with you, or be with you in a shop. If you need help with basic care needs let’s discuss how I can make a difference in your life.

Baby sitting

I’m DBS checked and have experience with baby sitting for families in the village. I’m a natural night owl, so I’ll take good care of your children while you work or treat yourself to a night out. I’m also a black belt in kick boxing, so you can relax, knowing your children are in really safe hands!

Dog walking

I know your pets are family and how stressful it can be if time constraints or your own physical health condition means you can’t take your dog for a walk as often as you’d like to. I love walking and know lots of local places to take your dog.

Form filling

Are you procrastinating about filling in a form? They can be pretty daunting, right? Together we’ll take that form one step at a time until it’s completed. Imagine how relieved you’ll feel when its complete and ready to send off.

Basic computer skills

I’m from the internet generation, so if you’re struggling to send an email, don’t know how to do a Google search or want help choosing apps for your iPad I might be able to get you out of overwhelm and into clarity.

Shopping and errands

If you’re sheltering or find getting out difficult, then let me be your legs! I’ll shop in the village for you, run errands at the post office and do what I can to make your life

English language

I spent last summer teaching English as a foreign language to students and helping some GCSE students with revision. If you or your child is worried about reading or writing, then my down-to-earth and gentle approach can help. I’ll help bolster confidence and try my best to instil enthusiasm to the most ardent of English haters!

Small pet sitting

Whether you’re away for an afternoon or a fortnight, you can rely on me to take care of your small pets. I’ll care for rabbits, guinea pigs or cats in your own home, giving them plenty of love and attention. I know that handing over the keys to your home - and the care of your animals - can be worrying. Fortunately I have two excellent references for pet sitting which will put your mind at ease.

COVID

I follow the government guidelines for preventing the spread of Covid, including wearing a mask when I’m with you indoors, socially distancing and frequent hand washing. I’ll bring my own hand sanitiser and we can discuss everything so that you are completely comfortable around me.

Things you may want to know.

Some quotes from my references

As a single mum of two, running my own business, I've needed Verona as an extra pair of hands to look after the kids, help with household jobs and do the odd office job and errand. Hard working and reliable, Verona has great attention to detail and a really caring nature.

Cheryl

I can not speak highly enough of Verona. She is very conscientious and mature. Trust is a big thing for me and giving someone the keys to my home and responsibility for my animals is not something I take lightly. I have not once questioned my decision to work with Verona.

David

Verona had the keys to my house and let herself in to walk our dog on a daily basis. While we were away, she kept an eye on things for us. I found Verona highly organised, punctual, reliable and she demonstrates a high degree of honesty. I would definitely have no issues recommending her for a job.

Ceri

Verona is a very personable and pleasant young person and always very polite. I have always recognised in her someone who is totally reliable and honest in every respect. I have no hesitation in recommending her for a position in paid employment.

Clive

Full references are available by request

Due to the Data Protection Regulations (GDPR) I am not permitted to display referees details in full. However, if you are interested in offering me a work position, I can send you full details of references that you can read online or print.

Contact me here for all enquiries and further details.

Invalid Email

All details submitted on this form will be used only for corresponding with the sender. No information will be stored, transmitted, traded or used for sales or marketing in any way. I comply with GDPR regulations.

Scroll To Top